The famous hard Italian cheese that you've been grating on to your favourite pasta and pizza dishes called Parmesan, or Parmigiano-Reggiano which is another dairy cheese made from the milk of a cow.
Because it is made from the lactation of an animal, it means that originally parmesan cheese is not actually vegan.
So how can you as a vegan have parmesan cheese?
Well, you'll be glad to know that there are over 100 different vegan parmesan cheeses available around the world today to buy online or in store.
We get this data from our one of a kind vegan cheese database that we continually update, which currently has almost 2000 vegan cheeses that you can filter and sort through to find a new favourite today.
Above you can see an example of an amazing parmesan vegan cheese made by Biovegeatal GrattaVeg which is an amazing vegan parmesan cheese you can have today that is made in Europe.
It utilises plant ingredients in its composition instead of dairy milk with this one being made of potato starch and lentils as its main ingredients.
And there are many other hard vegan parmesan cheeeses as well as pre-grated parmesan style vegan cheeses you can buy today from around the world.